Tarvin Online
DHC - Freedom of Parish Scroll
Image file

Freedom of the Parish

Home Page » Freedom of the Parish

A policy for granting of the Honorary Freedom of the Parish was adopted by Tarvin Parish Council in September 2023. A link to the policy document can be found by clicking HERE.

Granting the Freedom of the Parish is the highest honour that the Parish Council can bestow. Although it carries no powers, rights, or privileges, those who receive the honour are able to use the title of Freeman or Freewomen. As this is the highest honour that the Parish Council can grant it should be used sparingly and should not be given too often in order to preserve its status and value.


Current Recipient/s:

Mr David Cotgreave


Prior to the start of the January 2024 Parish Council meeting, the Chairman, Cllr. Robert Ford, presented former Councillor Mr. David Cotgreave with the inaugural Freedom of the Parish of Tarvin award. The award recognises David's exceptional public service, not only to the parish but to the Chester area generally.

David first joined the Parish Council in June 1969 — almost 55 years ago. Since that time, he has held the position of chairman on several occasions and was also mayor of Chester in 1982/83. For many years he acted as the council's representative to the Tarvin Educational Foundation which provides grants for educational purposes to students residing in the ancient parish of Tarvin. This in addition to serving on all of the Councils committees and working parties at different times.

David stepped down as a Councillor in April 2023. Our huge thanks and best wishes go to David.

You can view the scroll presented by clicking on the file on the left-hand side of this page.

© 2005 - 2024 Tarvin Parish Council